In Karnataka, the Congress party is leading by more than 100 seats, according to preliminary results.


The counting of votes for Karnataka’s 224 Assembly seats, which went to polls on May 10, began at 8 a.m. on Saturday amid strict security. The counting is taking place at 36 locations around the state, with 2,615 candidates competing.According to the Election Commission, voting on May 10 went ahead without a hitch, with an exceptional turnout of more than 72.68%, which is expected to beat the 2018 results (72.36%) following the final reconciliation of figures.

Exit polls forecast a close race between the Congress and the BJP, with most pollsters favouring the grand old party. The ruling BJP is hoping to break a 38-year-old poll jinx in which the people have never voted the incumbent party to power, while the Congress is hoping for a morale-boosting victory to give it much-needed elbow room and momentum to position itself as the main opposition player in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

The current government’s term will conclude on May 24, 2023.

In 100 constituencies, Congress leads. According to statistics for 197 of 224 Assembly constituencies, the BJP leads in 68 seats and the JD(S) in 24.

From Shikaripura Assembly seat, B.S. Yediyurappa’s son and BJP’s B.Y. Vijayendra are leading.

Basavaraj Bommai, Karnataka’s chief minister and a BJP leader, is leading from the Shiggaon Assembly seat.

G.T. Deve Gowda is the leader in Chamundeshwari.

In Gokak, Ramesh Jarkiholi of the BJP lags his Congress opponent Mahantesh Kadadi by almost 500 votes.

Jagadish Shettar, the Congress leader, is lagging from the Hubli-Dharwad-Central seat.

D.K. Shivakumar of the Karnataka Congress leads in the Kanakapura Assembly constituency, with R. Ashoka of the BJP following.

After the first round of voting, Jagadish Shettar is lagging in the Hubballi Dharwad Central Assembly segment.

Araga Jnanendra of the BJP takes the lead against Kimmane Ratnakar of the Congress in Tirthahalli.

After round nine of counting, V. Somanna of the BJP is trailing Puttarangashetty of the Congress.

In Shivamogga, S.N. Channabasappa of the BJP leads his nearest rival H.C. Yogesh of the Congress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *